December 2013 – What I’ve been up to

It’s been a while since I wrote anything on here and here’s a brief recap of what’s going on in my life.

I’m in the second year of college, still studying a game development course, now mainly focussed on programming with advanced C++ and DirectX graphics programming classes. We still get a 3D course, which mostly handles next-gen asset development and is a good distraction from all the code.

I’m halfway trough this journey, and a bit scared as next year I’ll have to do an internship, and I have no idea about how my future life is going to look like. I have no idea where I’ll end up with, what job I’d want to do and where. I also feel like I barely have anything to put on my portfolio, and I’m afraid I sometimes won’t meet the guidelines required by this industry. I guess if I had to describe the kind of dream job, then it would be something not too important but not too minor in the games industry, something that blends both programming and the visual side, something not too close Ā to home, but not something too far away either. I wonder if a job like that exists.

As far as my interests go, I’m still passionate about game development, as well as webdesign and UI development. I’m putting the Windows 8 development story at the side for the time being, as it consumed too much of my time already, and Microsoft still doesn’t seem get its vision together. Aside from that I try (and fail?) to be a bit more social and enjoying life and such.

My resolutions for 2014 are…to improve myself on all these parts and blog about them! (and 1920 by 1080 too of-course ; ).

Nick

Leave a Reply

